published on

GeeDuhb (7551295)

Title: Netflix confirms: Jeffrey Tambor will appear in Arrested Development S5

Reason: User Warned: Inappropriate Commentary + Inflammatory Comparisons

But that is my point. Did Amazon say that they found him guilty? I am not saying companies are greedy, but there is no doubt that there have been companies that when having to choose between standing by an accused actor and face a backlash/boycott/permanent damage to the company or cutting an actor free and ending a show, have chosen the latter. Unfortunately, "outrage" culture in today's age has changed the way situations like this are handled. I mean just look at the way companies started dropping the NRA after Florida happened. The NRA didn't do anything wrong in that situation per say, but it was drop them or face boycotts/bad press/etc. Edit: Yeah, the NRA comparison was stupid, and I apologize. I was trying to think of something to equate it to off the top of my head and that was the first thing that popped in. It was a very poor comparison. For the record, I think the NRA’s behavior was disgusting through the entire ordeal and that is not what I was trying to excuse. I was trying to say that the NRA has done inflammatory stuff before but it seemingly blew up this time because of the social media campaigns to the advertisers. The mod pointed out that it was the mocking of the students that really set this off and I completely overlooked that. Also, I am not trying to say that ANY of the accused are innocent and I think all the behavior is despicable if true. My argument all around was poor and not explained enough. I was trying to play devils advocate and it blew up in my face. I messed up. You live and you learn.

Link: https://www.resetera.com/threads/netflix-confirms-jeffrey-tambor-will-appear-in-arrested-development-s5.40386/page-2#post-7551295

Archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20180510213425/https://www.resetera.com/threads/netflix-confirms-jeffrey-tambor-will-appear-in-arrested-development-s5.40386/page-2

Archive.is (legacy): https://archive.is/M65FC