published on

MartinB105 (7375535)

Title: How do you feel about people who pirate movies?

Reason: User Warned: Advocating Piracy.

I have no problem with people who pirate movies, and I have no shame in admitting that I've done it myself, although my preferred method was Bittorrent rather than streaming. Here's my position: I've been using Linux exclusively at home for nearly two decades and I've been on the lookout for the opportunity to purchase movies digitally for years to store on my media server and play on Kodi. I don't want to go to a cinema. I don't want the hassle of ripping physical discs. I'm not interested in rental or subscription services. I just want to purchase the odd movie every now and then to keep and play on my preferred platform (Kodi). Is that really too much to ask? Apparently it is, because I've done everything in my power to find such a service, including contacting multiple companies, anti-piracy organisations, etc., and it seems that no company is providing it. So if the industry isn't interested in supporting video content on my chosen platform, what do they have to lose when I just get what I want via other means? As far as I'm concerned, my use of Bittorrent is inconsequential to the industry because the industry is not providing any competing service. With regards to other media, I do not pirate anything. DRM is pretty much dead on music, so I never have any issues playing legally purchased music on any device I own (Kodi, MP3 Player, Phone, Tablet, Linux PC, etc.), and games are limited to their platform by their nature of software/hardware compatibility anyway. Now, I don't like it when I hear of friends/family pirating music and games - especially of small artists and developers - and I'm often tempted to encourage them to buy their music and/or games, but I usually won't say anything because I feel that it might come off as snobbish. But movies? I have zero sympathy for that industry. Same goes for TV. And your co-workers OP? They sound like assholes, but that has little to do with piracy.

Link: https://www.resetera.com/threads/how-do-you-feel-about-people-who-pirate-movies.39403/page-3#post-7375535

Archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20180510213106/https://www.resetera.com/threads/how-do-you-feel-about-people-who-pirate-movies.39403/page-3

Archive.is (legacy): https://archive.is/d8a7v