published on

julealgon (7298247)

Title: TotalBiscuit / John Bain's cancer has worsened ; retiring as a Game Critic, expresses future plans

Reason: User Warned: Thread derail

Every time I read about these cancer stories I get more frustrated. As a software engineer, I get really mad at developers who code without understanding the code first, and I end up applying this to doctors a bit: I have this constant feeling that the current doctors just don't know what they are dealing with at all, and that everything is trial-and-error based. I thought about studying cancer myself just to see if I could come up with something... Maybe apply my methodical thinking to the problem, but alas, it's not what I like doing so it would be unlikely to happen. I honestly feel like we need the Elon Musk of health at this point. Someone so incredibly passionate and knowledgeable, that would finally understand what's happening in the human body and propose a logical cure to this mess. These days, at least here in Brazil, people become doctors only because of the money: Nothing else. This DOES NOT WORK. If there is no passion, there is no development. This applies to absolutely all areas. Is it even theoretically possible? Do we have a percentage to that? I've always heard that cancer is incurable. Again... I'm just not hopeful at this point. When will we stop with the trial-and-error approach and do something else? We need to "debug" the human code somehow... Do we need another Hitler to do that? Do we need to eliminate religion? Is this really the case? I lost a close relative recently because they basically gave up: they starved to death instead of being killed by the actual cancer. I call that "not fighting". Is it though? It seems like everything is out of reach of doctors. The entire medical field is trial-and-error based. No one truly knows if a given food causes cancer. No one truly knows how a specific medicine seems to work from what I can tell. It's a massive pool of ignorance in the field. Agreed. So frustrating to have to keep dealing with such bullshit disease and have zero progress on actual treatment. That sounds interesting, thanks for the link. Again, do we even know that? Aren't there stories about "miracles" (i.e. ignorant people not understanding something) where the cancer completely healed? It's sad to hear this, as it confirms my suspicion from the outside. Very, very frustrating. What about the "miracles"? There must be something that can be done, or else those "miracles" would not exist in the first place. This was painful to read. I feel truly sorry for you. Fucking disgusting stupid disease. Again, that's probably bullshit. We cannot accept that, just because we don't know how something works, that it's impossible. People believed that the sun was a god, how incredibly stupid is that in hindsight... Same thing with cancer i tell you. It is something stupid that is 100% curable, we just didn't figure it out yet. Yet again, I hate reading this. Why on earth are we not close? What are scientists doing wrong? Maybe we need more passionate scientists and less greedy ones. Absolutely love this attitude. We need more people with such mindset.

Link: https://www.resetera.com/threads/total-biscuit-john-bains-cancer-has-spread-to-his-spine-chemo-doesnt-work-anymore.37212/page-8#post-7298247

Archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20180510212529/https://www.resetera.com/threads/totalbiscuit-john-bains-cancer-has-worsened-retiring-as-a-game-critic-expresses-future-plans.37212/page-8

Archive.is (legacy): https://archive.is/PiUo5