published on

MoFuzz (5721848)

Title: Star Wars: The Last Jedi |OT3| The War is Just Beginning (Unmarked Spoilers)

Reason: User Banned (Permanent): Misogynistic rhetoric, hostility, persecution complex. Account still in the junior phase.

So, I see we're doing the usual dogpiling on anyone who dislikes the movie, once again. The same shit that I called out mere days ago (strawmans, deflections), when everyone was conveniently and blissfully unaware of what I was talking about. Right. You can't refute any of my points, so you attempt to demean or attack my character by saying that I'm a men's right's activist, and whatever other associated horseshit that goes along with it, when I have said nothing of the sort. But fuck all of that, right? Who needs sufficient evidence? Just pure unadulterated outrage over nothing. Classic political tactics on display here, and very timely as well, given the incredibly deep and nuanced "themes" of this cinematic masterpiece. So, let's do this. Hmm, and yet despite what you mentioned, the movies were massively appealing to people from all backgrounds. People from all over the world enjoyed Star Wars. This may blow your mind, but there are places outside of America where people actually live. Shocking for some, I realize. Regardless, why do you think that is? Could it be that despite the implications of political leanings in the background, that the overall message in the movie itself was still broad enough to appeal to a wide demographic? Could it be that it was set among a very basic backdrop of good vs evil? Could it be that people of all backgrounds, genders, beliefs and races could get on board? That men and women alike enjoyed the heroic adventures of Luke, Leia and Han, regardless of whether they wore a red tie or a blue blouse? Subtlety and nuance. That is what I'm asking for. Not the complete elimination of references and ideas entirely. Do you understand? That's not what I said though is it? Quote and bold the part where I said that back to me. If you can't, then you just shoved words in my mouth. It's a neat trick, and I get why people do it, since you have to push your false narrative, but sadly, it's also dishonest as fuck. My feelings weren't hurt by Admiral Gender Studies and the fem brigade, but it's cute that you think that. As with the user above, you are attempting to spin your argument around a false narrative, which I assure you has zero basis in reality. I'm not taking a hard stance on things like gender or identity politics. I'm simply pointing out that it's the movie. It alienates people who neither agree or disagree with the points presented and have no horse in the race. It should not be indicative of someone's character overall to be neutral on a particular subject. Unless, you're saying that all of those people are worthless pieces of shit and don't deserve to watch this movie and garner any enjoyment from it? Filmmakers can say whatever the hell they want to, in press and interview settings. Themes and values are personal, and are derived from you and you alone. Character development and good storytelling are universal and can appeal to anyone. I don't care that Lucas disliked Nixon. I don't care that Rian disliked Trump. I don't care about the political and ideological values that sci-fi or fantasy genre filmmakers hold or think about in their private time. This isn't a TED Talk, it's an escapism fantasy movie for all ages. Their intrigue with politics is from a trivial perspective only, and for a specific set of people who happen to think the same way. None of that matters if you can't build quality content around it. When you push your agendas and themes over the plot, then you cut out a portion of the audience who does not relate to your propaganda. Tell me a fucking story. I will point out to you yet again, that you are arguing from a position of "the other movies did it", which as I stated to you in the home release thread, is not a stable foundation to argue from in this context. I'm not here critiquing the OT. They aren't flawless, and I would never argue otherwise. The prequels? Some good ideas and framework there, but generally laughable. We're not talking about those. We're talking about this movie and the one that came before it.

Link: https://www.resetera.com/threads/star-wars-the-last-jedi-ot3-the-war-is-just-beginning-unmarked-spoilers.13028/page-328#post-5721848

Archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20180510213459/https://www.resetera.com/threads/star-wars-the-last-jedi-ot3-the-war-is-just-beginning-unmarked-spoilers.13028/page-328

Archive.is (legacy): https://archive.is/xExCY