published on

Nothing (1127445)

Title: Why women criticise sexualised character designs (READ OP)

Reason: User was warned for invalidating others members' perspectives based on anecdotal evidence. The thread has many patient women and allies. Please listen to them.

I'm sorry that this bothers you so much. Personally I don't know many women that play console video games. So I don't really understand the perspective. All of the women I know spend time playing games on their phones and their tablets. I shop; a lot. I spend a great deal of time talking to other consumers and enthusiasts that are buying video games. They are pretty much all dudes. And when it is women, 7 out of 10 times they are buying for someone else. I had a lovely 15min conversation with a young mother just the other day that wanted to know all the ins and the outs of the Switch so she could buy one for her children. If you want to boil it down to its most simplest nature, video games are made by guys, for guys. They are the ones driving the vast majority of the revenue on console game sales. There are plenty of guys that like these games. Developers are supplying things that meet this demand. Some developers are also fortunate enough to create their own vision free from outside control. So they can make whatever they want to make. If a good percentage of people are repulsed by a title, then it won't sell well, and future iterations likely won't get financially supported. But they do sell well. Because people like them. The vast majority of people don't have any problems of principle with either MGS V or FF XV. I, too, am surprised there aren't more women making video games directed towards women. That way you could look past many of the games that were obviously made for other audiences. I'm not sure why there aren't more women making video games. I'll admit that I don't know much about the barriers in the industry that prevent more women from making games. But everywhere I go, everywhere I shop, everywhere I have conversations online, it's mostly dudes. If there were more women buying console video games I'm sure that you'd see more console games for women. It's kind of a catch22.

Link: https://www.resetera.com/threads/why-women-criticise-sexualised-character-designs-read-op.4483/page-54#post-1127445

Archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20180510212906/https://www.resetera.com/threads/why-women-criticise-sexualised-character-designs-read-op.4483/page-54

Archive.is (legacy): https://archive.is/trnPS